Stan Lee Receives the Lifetime Achievement Award at The Geekies

 Stan Lee Receives the Lifetime Achievement Award as The Geekies Kick Off Their Inaugural Year at The Avalon Hollywood
The Geekie Awards - Photos By Joe Lester - Lifetime Achievement Award - Stan Lee JL139697
Photo by: Joe Lester
The Geekie Awards aired the first-ever live broadcast geek-genre awards show supporting indie artists, filmmakers and creators, honoring POW! Entertainment’s Stan Lee, Nathan Fillion, and NASA JPL Mars Curiosity Rover at The Avalon Hollywood

Hollywood, CA – August 18, 2013 – Thunderous applause echoed throughout The Avalon Hollywood as Stan Lee accepted his Lifetime Achievement Award, presented to him by Seth Green, at the inaugural Geekie Awards.  The biggest surprise came when Stan ended up singing his very own Ode to Geeks (in the tune of “Yankee Doodle”).  There were many surprise awards given to kick off the show, such as “Freaks & Geeks” alumns, Samm Levine, Natasha Melnick, and Sarah Hagan, presenting the Geek of the Year award to Nathan Fillion.  Accepting on Fillion’s behalf, The People’s Nerd and Super Bowl commercial make-out king, Jesse Heiman, who gave his BEST Fillion impression.  Thrilling Adventure Hour’s, Marc Evan Jackson as Sparks Nevada…Marshall on Mars, presented the Geek Cred Award to the NASA JPL Mars Curiosity Rover team in attendance.  There was even a special performance by Iron Shield Arms, LLC, L.E.A.G.U.E. of Steam, Andre Meadows, and George Shaw.

 As Alison Haslip (G4) emceed the live-streamed event through Ustream, and Tara Platt lent her voice-over skills as the main announcer, many known geekie presenters awarded the class of 2013 Geekie winners.  Those presenters were:  Magda Apanowicz (Caprica, Continuum, Kyle XY), Ralph Garman (The Kevin and Bean Show, Showbiz Beat), Tim Jo (The Neighbors, Castle, Greek), Richard Hatch (Battlestar Galactica), Grant Imahara (Mythbusters), Kevin Shinick (MAD, Robot Chicken), Andrew Bowen (Rock Jocks, MAD), Keahu Kahuanui (Teen Wolf, Hawaii Five-O), Clare Kramer (Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Bring it On), Miracle Laurie (Dollhouse, Any Day Now), Chase Masterson (Star Trek: DS9, AOL’s Sexiest Aliens), Chris Gore (Podcrash, G4), Mark Christopher Lawrence (Chuck), The Winner Twins (award winning sci-fi authors), Ashley Esqueda (host of Techfoolery), Bonnie Burton (Star Wars Craft, Geek DIY), Jenna Busch (Fanhattan, Cocktails with Stan), and Stephanie Thorpe (ElfQuest).

 The Geekie Awards was created by über geek girl, Kristen Nedopak, in order to celebrate the most talented independent creators, artists, and filmmakers in the geek genre.  This awards show stands alone as one that showcased the multitude of genres within the geek world to an international audience of industry leaders and fans who may not have otherwise discover it.

About The Geekie Awards:
The 2013 Geekie Awards presents the first-ever live streamed geek-genre award show featuring the best indie-created short films, web series, comic books, artists, designers, toy/game makers and more across 9 major categories. The multi-camera live streaming / online broadcast will reach an international audience of millions and celebrate any and every genre from Sci-Fi to Fantasy to Steampunk, Horror, Anime, and more. ‘The Geekie Awards’ is a registered trademark of Nedopak Productions, LLC.

 Additional information about The Geekie Awards is available at: | #RUGeekie |

Comic Blog Elite

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Awards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.