SDCC: 2013 Eisner Awards announced at Comic Con 2013

The 25th Annual Eisner Awards were presented Friday evening July 19th at the Indigo Ballroom of the Hilton Bayfront Hotel in conjunction with Comic Con International 2013.   Presenters included actors James Marsters & John Barrowman, British TV personality & comic book writer Jonathan Ross, award winning novelist & comic book writer Neil Gaiman, and comic book legend Sergio Aragones.

BStories Saga1

Blacksad HawkeyeThe big winner of the evening was Christ Ware for Building Stories with 4 awards.  Saga by Brian K Vaughn & Fiona Staples was awarded 3 Eisners, Juanjo Guarnido was awarded 2 Eisners for Blacksad: A Silent Hell, and David Aja was awarded 2 Eisners for Hawkeye.

Full results:

Best Short Story
“Moon 1969: The True Story of the 1969 Moon Launch,” by Michael Kupperman, in Tales Designed to Thrizzle #8 (Fantagraphics)

Best Single Issue (or One-Shot)
The Mire, by Becky Cloonan (self-published)

Best Continuing Series
Saga, by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image)

Best New Series
Saga, by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image)

Best Publication for Early Readers (up to age 7)
Babymouse for President, by Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm (Random House)

Best Publication for Kids (ages 8-12)
Adventure Time, by Ryan North, Shelli Paroline, and Braden Lamb (kaboom!)

Best Publication for Teens (ages 13-17)
A Wrinkle in Time, by Madeleine L’Engle, adapted by Hope Larson (FSG)

Best Humor Publication
Darth Vader and Son, by Jeffrey Brown (Chronicle)

Best Digital Comic
Bandette, by Paul Tobin and Colleen Coover

Best Anthology
Dark Horse Presents, edited by Mike Richardson (Dark Horse)

Best Reality-Based Work

Annie Sullivan and the Trials of Helen Keller, by Joseph Lambert (Center for Cartoon Studies/Disney Hyperion)
The Carter Family: Don’t Forget This Song, by Frank M. Young and David Lasky (Abrams ComicArts)

Best Graphic Album—New
Building Stories, by Chris Ware (Pantheon)

Best Adaptation from Another Medium
Richard Stark’s Parker: The Score, adapted by Darwyn Cooke (IDW)

Best Graphic Album—Reprint
King City, by Brandon Graham (TokyoPop/Image)

Best Archival Collection/Project—Strips
Pogo, vol. 2: Bona Fide Balderdash, by Walt Kelly, edited by Carolyn Kelly and Kim Thompson (Fantagraphics)

Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books
David Mazzucchelli’s Daredevil Born Again: Artist’s Edition, edited by Scott Dunbier (IDW)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material
Blacksad: Silent Hell, by Juan Diaz Canales and Juanjo Guarnido (Dark Horse)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia
Naoki Urasawa’s 20th Century Boys, by Naoki Urasawa (VIZ Media)

Best Writer
Brian K. Vaughan, Saga (Image)

Best Writer/Artist
Chris Ware, Building Stories (Pantheon)

Best Penciller/Inker
David Aja, Hawkeye (Marvel)
Chris Samnee, Daredevil (Marvel); Rocketeer: Cargo of Doom (IDW)

Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art)
Juanjo Guarnido, Blacksad (Dark Horse)

Best Cover Artist
David Aja, Hawkeye (Marvel)

Best Coloring
Dave Stewart, Batwoman (DC); Fatale  (Image); BPRD, Conan the Barbarian, Hellboy in Hell, Lobster Johnson, The Massive (Dark Horse)

Best Lettering
Chris Ware, Building Stories (Pantheon)

Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism
The Comics Reporter, edited by Tom Spurgeon

Best Comics-Related Book
Marvel Comics: The Untold Story, by Sean Howe (HarperCollins)

Best Educational/Academic Work
Lynda Barry: Girlhood Through the Looking Glass, by Susan E. Kirtley (University Press of Mississippi)

Best Publication Design
Building Stories, designed by Chris Ware (Pantheon)

Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award
Challengers Comics and Conversation; Chicago, IL

Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award
Russel Roehling, artist of Wasteland (Oni)

Bill Finger Excellence in Comic Writing Award
Steve Gerber and Don Rosa

Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award
Chris Sparks, leader of Team cul-de-sac

Eisner Hall of Fame inductees:
Mort Meskin
Spain Rodriguez
Lee Falk
Al Jaffee
Trina Robbins
Joe Sinnott

Comic Blog Elite


About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Comic Creators, Comics, Conventions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SDCC: 2013 Eisner Awards announced at Comic Con 2013

  1. Pingback: San Diego Comic Con 2013….Great year at the Grandfather of all Comic Cons | ComicSpectrum – Bob's Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.